Register   Login
     
     
  The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band  
Edit Review The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band  Blues 
Send email to The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band
"Their latest CD, Big Damn Nation, is a hopped-up crash course in raw Delta Blues pounded out with crazed fury. But The Reverend is no modern primitive. Traces of the East Coast Piedmont Style and Southern Gospel heard in his high-energy guitar wrangling betray a clever mind, well-versed in numerous other genres, as well. Like a rabid wolf crossed with Leadbelly, Reverend Peyton bellows and howls wildly while his right thumb drops like a sledgehammer on the guitar strings, threatening to shatter his national steel under the force of his frenzied picking style. "Boom Chank" is not just a song; it is the Big Damn Band's signature rhythm, the foundation of their sound. Though back-beated by the simplest, most repetitive of grooves, it perfectly sums up their heart-pounding fervor. Stomp your feet and clap your hands (boom-chank). This shit is red hot. (RH) Grade: A " -Mike Breen, Cincinnati CityBeat
Add Show  

  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Reggie's Music Joint Chicago, IL: Wednesday, February 25, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Gas Lamp Des Moines, IA: Saturday, March 07, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - The State Theater St. Petersburg, FL: Sunday, March 15, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Orpheum Theater Flagstaff, AZ: Wednesday, March 25, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Crescent Ballroom Phoenix, AZ: Thursday, March 26, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - The Mint Los Angeles, CA: Saturday, March 28, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Urban Lounge Salt Lake City, UT: Wednesday, April 01, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band Fox N Hounds Under The Willow - Woodlands Tavern Grandview, OH: Thursday, April 02, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Knuckleheads Kansas City, MO: Tuesday, April 07, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Plush St. Louis, MO: Wednesday, April 08, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - George's Majestic Lounge Fayetteville, AR: Thursday, April 09, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Woodlands Tavern Grandview, OH: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Cosmic Charlies Lexington, KY: Tuesday, April 28, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Grey Eagle Tavern & Music Hall Asheville, NC: Wednesday, April 29, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - The Earl Atlanta, GA: Thursday, April 30, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Local 506 Chapel Hill, NC: Friday, May 01, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - The Hamilton Washington, DC: Saturday, May 02, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Rams Head Live Baltimore, MD: Tuesday, May 05, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
  Send Event to Friends    Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - Mercury Lounge New York, NY: Thursday, May 07, 2015 @ 8:00 PM
Back 
  Artist Reviews  
  Links